Contact Us

Fifth FIDE Women Grand Prix is opened!
Thursday, 29 July 2010
290710_opening.jpgThe opening of the Women FIDE Grand Prix chess tournament was held at city center and the heart of Mongolia - Sukhbaatar Square - on July, 29th, 2010. For the first time in the government district was allowed to lead the opening of sports competitions.

The President of the International Chess Federation Kirsan Ilyumzhinov has respected the Organizing Committee of the Grand Prix tournament, participants and arbiters.

Kirsan Ilyumzhinov noticed the tournament is organized on the highest level. 

He emphasized chess is beloved in the country, and has deep historical traditions.

- I wish to express my gratitude to the Government of Mongolia for their decision to introduce into school chess education beginning the 1st of September. Before the opening ceremony laid of the foundation for Chess Academy in Mongolia was made. We hope that this Academy will yield the future Mongolian chess champion. And I as the President of FIDE with Mongolian blood in my veins will strive to support chess in this country. I wish success to the participants of this tournament.  

Speech by Minister of Education, Culture and Science Y.Otgonbayar warmly welcomed the participants and thanked the organizers for the opportunity to host the 5th FIDE Women’s Grand Prix tournament in our country’s capital city of Ulaanbaatar.

- Chess is the most intellectual sport invented by mankind and this tournament features 12 outstanding players from 8 countries including combined 7 time world champions. I also want to emphasize that participants of this tournament have the highest ranking making it unique.

Then the pairings which has defined an arrangement of participants in standings took place.
Humpy Koneru ( India) – Shen Yang (China); Hou Yifan (China) – Tatiana Kosintseva (Russia); Marie Sebag (France) – Xu Yuhua (China); Maia Chiburdanidze (Georgia) – Batkhuyag Munguntuul (Mongolia); Zhu Chen (Qatar) – Stefanova, Antoaneta (Bolgaria); Yildiz Betul Cemre (Turkey) – Zhao Xue (China).
© FIDE Grand Prix 2009 - 2010    |    www.fide.com    |    grandprix.fide.com    |    Powered by Turkish Chess Federation